Subscribe to our blog Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube Channel Follow us on Twitter Follow us on instagram Follow us on Tumblr
There is currently 1 announcement posted impacting service at Macon County Public Library, Hudson Library and Nantahala Community Library. Visit the Closings page for more information.
how_to_reg Creating an account
Some resources and databases allow you to create an account to store progress or research information. When creating accounts for library resources & databases, please be sure to select "Fontana Regional Library" if prompted to select a library.
login Logging in with your Library Card
Some resources and databases will require you to login using your library card number and password/PIN. Your library card number is located on the back of your library card. Your password/PIN will be the same password you use to login to your online catalog account. The default password/PIN (if you have not reset or changed it) is usually the last 4 digits of your primary phone number.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W

Data-Axle Reference Solutions Popular

Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. Data-Axle makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more. Formerly known as ReferenceUSA.

For help resources and guides visit: http://resource.referenceusa.com/training-guides/

Use the Business Database to:
  • Conduct job searches
  • Look for sales leads
  • Find new business opportunities
  • Locate out-of-town companies
  • Find key business people contact information
  • Locate suppliers
  • Analyze competitors
Rely on the Residential Data to:
  • Plan weddings or family reunions
  • Organize class reunions
  • Find neighbors or long-lost friends
Search the Consumer Lifestyle Database to:
  • Conduct market research
  • Target new customers
  • Discover customer preferences
  • View prospective individual customer demographics
  • Analyze community demographics
  • Identify new residents in a specific area

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) provides access to millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Find primary sources to use in school projects, academic research, family history research, and more.

Fore help resources visit: https://dp.la/guides

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.

Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina

Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in 158 North Carolina towns and cities across a century of change.

For help resources visit: http://proquest.libguides.com/dsm/browse

Overview

Digital Sanborn® Maps delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in more than 12,000 U.S. towns and cities across a century of change.

Sanborn® fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in libraries. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years, repeatedly mapping towns and cities as they changed.

The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and property numbers. Plans often include details on construction materials and building use; and also depict pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and other features likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood.

Combined with other sources such as city directories, photographs, small-scale maps, census records, genealogies, and statistical data—the Sanborn Maps provide an unparalleled picture of life in American towns and cities.

DigitalNC

Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.

The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program housed in the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online. Collections include: