Subscribe to our blog Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube Channel Follow us on Twitter Follow us on instagram Follow us on Tumblr

Online Resources and Databases

how_to_reg Creating an account
Some resources and databases allow you to create an account to store progress or research information. When creating accounts for library resources & databases, please be sure to select "Fontana Regional Library" if prompted to select a library.
login Logging in with your Library Card
Some resources and databases will require you to login using your library card number and password/PIN. Your library card number is located on the back of your library card. Your password/PIN will be the same password you use to login to your online catalog account. The default password/PIN (if you have not reset or changed it) is usually the last 4 digits of your primary phone number.
A | D | H
| Show All

HeritageQuest Popular

Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes searchable historical census, Freedman's Bank records, Revolutionary War records, and more.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/hqo/searchtips

Overview

HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. 18th Century or 20th Century. European or Native American. Farm or Factory. East Coast or West Coast. Where does your American past begin?

Discover the amazing history of you with HeritageQuest Online. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past.

The collection consists of five core data sets:
  • Census collection contains over 700 million records from the U.S. Federal Census 1790-1940, and national censuses including Argentina, Netherlands, Czech Republic and several other countries.
  • Books collection contains over 22,000 family and local histories, compiled genealogies, documentary collections, church records, military records, vital records, city and county histories, and more.
  • City Directories with over 1.5 million records from various US city and county directories during 1821-1989.

Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection Featured Popular

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/newspapersdotcom/search

Overview

Includes:
  • The Franklin Press (1888–1906)
Some historic newspapers are digitized at the page-level, while others are digitized at the article level. The basic searching function is identical for both article-level and page-level. Every part of every page of ProQuest Historical Newspapers is full-text searchable, whether they are digitized at the article-level or page-level. If you search for a term such as the name “John Kennedy” and it appears in the text any place on a page, it will generate a hit for that page—whether it is in an article title, in an article, in an advertisement, etc.

The primary difference in searching article-level titles is in the Advanced Search: because they include article-level metadata, newspapers digitized at the article-level provide users with the ability to restrict search results to different portions of the newspaper (articles, advertisements, cartoons, etc.).

keyboard_arrow_upTop