Subscribe to our blog Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube Channel Follow us on Twitter Follow us on instagram Follow us on Tumblr
  • Due to coronavirus prevention, all Fontana Regional Library buildings are currently open with some restrictions and Curbside pickup service. Please call your local library for more information.

The language of ghosts

Fawcett, Heather
Genre: 

The Penderwicks meets Howl's Moving Castle in this thrilling middle grade fantasy adventure about a trio of royal siblings who unlock a long-forgotten magical language in their bid to reclaim their stolen throne—from Ember and the Ice Dragons author Heather Fawcett. Perfect for fans of Kelly Barnhill and Robert Beatty. Forced into exile on an enchanted, moving island, ex-princess Noa Marchena has two missions: reclaim her family's stolen throne and ensure that the dark powers her older brother, Julian, possesses don't go to his head in the process. But between babysitting her annoying little sister, Mite, and keeping an eye on the cake-loving sea monster that guards the moving island, Noa has her hands full. When the siblings learn that their enemies are searching for a weapon capable of defeating Julian—whose legendary spell weaving is feared throughout the kingdom—once and for all, they vow to get to it first. To everyone's surprise, the key to victory turns out to be a long-lost magical language—and only Noa can speak it. But what if by helping her brother, Noa ends up losing him?

Text Difficulty 3 - Text Difficulty 4|||820 Lexile.|||juvenile

Heather Fawcett.

Narrator: Caitlin Kelly.

Electronic reproduction. New York : Balzer + Bray, 2020. Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 275729 KB).

Target Readership: