Subscribe to our blog Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube Channel Follow us on Twitter Follow us on instagram Follow us on Tumblr
All Library locations will be closed Monday, May 28th. - More info about closings
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W

ABC-CLIO E-book Collection

History & literature eBooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography. Over 7,000 titles now available on an intuitive, user-friendly interface - making on-screen reading and research easier.

ABI/INFORM Collection Popular

Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.

ACCESSNC

Statistical, analytical and mapping tool designed to aid economic and community development decision making.

Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection

Journal articles, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations covering current news and topics as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues.

African-American Poetry

Poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database

Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.

American Poetry

Find poems written from 1650-1920. Includes Anne Bradstreet, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman and Herman Melville.

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography

Life histories of former slaves compiled from 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.

ArchiveGrid

Access to primary source information, including birth and death records, ship logs, and cemetery records.

ArtNC

An educational resource from the North Carolina Museum of Art. Explore works of art that are teachable across disciplines and grade levels. Includes lesson plans, concept maps and portfolios.

Arts & Humanities Database

This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Asian & European Business Collection

This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.

Australia & New Zealand Database

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Australia and New Zealand.

Automate New

Reference database with authoritative and up-to-date auto repair and service information on more than 38,000 vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.

Bills from the NC General Assembly

Current and historical bills from the NC General Assembly. Search by attribute, bill number, chamber, committee, and more.

Biography Reference Bank New

A biography database of in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index, and specialist content from Junior Authors & Illustrators.

Biography Reference Center New

A comprehensive collection of full-text biographies on popular and heavily-researched figures. Users can locate biographies of interest by browsing key categories, including occupation, nationality, publication and more than 30 genre categories including actors, artists, athletes, authors, current world leaders, explorers, scientists and many others.

Biology Database

Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.

Business Link North Carolina

Programs and resources for people starting a new business or moving a business to North Carolina.

Business Market Research Collection

This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database

Articles spanning Canadian agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more, including scholarly content.

Canadian Newsstream

Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.

Career & Technical Education Database

Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Resources about diseases, conditions and other special topics, with health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide.

CINAHL Plus New

Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.

Computing Database

Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.

Consumer Reports New

Popular collection of product reviews and recommendations for cars, appliances, electronics, personal finance, and health information.

Continental Europe Database

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries.

CQ Magazine

News and analysis on how legislation is shaped. Coverage of bills, votes, amendments, committees, and more.

CQ Researcher Online

Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Credo Reference New

A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.

Crime in North Carolina (Uniform Crime Report)

The Uniform Crime Reporting Program collects data on the age, race, and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations.

Criminal Justice Database

Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

Cypress Resume New

Cypress Resume is the simplest, most effective tool for resume creation on the market today. Specifically designed for job seekers skittish about writing, Cypress Resume allows anyone to create a professional resume in a matter of minutes.

DigitalNC

Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.

East & Central Europe Database

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries.

East & South Asia Database

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries.

Ebook Central Featured

Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.

eBooks on EBSCOhost Popular

Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.

Education Database

Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

eLibrary Curriculum Edition New

This easy-to-use curriculum and reference resource delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for schools and libraries of all kinds, as well as additional subject-based material.

English Poetry

Find poems written from 600 to 1900 including Thomas Percy, Walter Scott, Robert Dodsley, Francis Turner Palgrave, and more.

Entrepreneurship Database

Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.

Faber Poetry Library

Find poems written by modern poets such as Wendy Cope, T. S. Eliot, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Tom Paulin, Sylvia Plath and more.

Family Health Database

Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center New

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Films on Demand Video Collection

Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

Gale Literary Sources

Combines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Searchable collection of online reference titles.

Go Ask Alice

Go Ask Alice! answers questions about alcohol & other drugs, emotional health, fitness & nutrition, general health, relationships, and sexual & reproductive health.

Government Employee Telephone Directory

A searchable alphabetical listing and departmental directory are included.

Health & Medical Collection Popular

Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.

Health Management Database

Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.

Healthfinder

Journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries on minority health, as well as prevention and self-care on a variety of topics such as pregnancy, HIV, diabetes, women's health, and more.

HealthFinder en español

Journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries on minority health, as well as prevention and self-care on a variety of topics such as pregnancy, HIV, diabetes, women's health, and more. In Spanish.

HeritageQuest Popular

Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes searchable historical census, Freedman's Bank records, Revolutionary War records, and more.

Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection Featured New

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

HIV InSite

Up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy. Includes information on HIV in other areas of the world.

Home Grown eBooks Collection

A collection of more than 1,000 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.

India Database

ProQuest Indian Journals is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource providing full-text, scholarly journals, all published in India.

International Newsstream

International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

KidsHealth

Information about children from before birth through adolescence. Topics include: emotional development, nutrition, parenting, first aid, and infections.

Lab Tests Online

Understand lab tests that are part of routine care, as well as diagnosis and treatment. Search by test, condition, or recommended screenings.

Latin America & Iberia Database

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal.

LawHelpNC

Find information and links about your legal rights, the law, the courts, legal forms and more.

Library Science Database

This database allows you to search the full-text of leading library and information science journals. This collection provides full-text coverage of 125+ core titles.

Linguistics Database

This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Literature Resource Center

Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.

Mango Languages Featured New

A language-learning software with over 70 world language courses and over 17 ESL/ELL courses, featuring an engaging user interface, voice comparison, fresh design, foreign language films, cultural anecdotes, and a user-friendly mobile app.

MasterFile Premier New

General reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes peer reviewed publications.

MayoClinic.com

Health education to patients and the general public on topics such as autism, influenza, bipolar disorder, breast cancer, smoking, depression, and more.

MedlinePlus

Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries and more.

MedlinePlus Drugs & Supplements

Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs, and supplements.

Merck Manual Consumer Version

Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated.

Merck Manual Professional Version

Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated. For doctors and medical students.

Middle East & Africa Database

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries.

Military Database Popular

Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Includes research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and hundreds of ETFs.

MyiLibrary

Online books on a variety of topics including art, language learning, medical, health, history, and more.

National Cancer Institute

Comprehensive descriptions of cancer research programs and clinical trials.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine

Complementary and alternative healing practices such as aromatherapy, acupuncture, and herbal medicine. Offers resources and pamphlets.

National Institute of Mental Health

Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets.

NC ECHO

Online access to the special collections of North Carolina's libraries, archives, museums, historic sites, and other cultural institutions.

NC Health Info

A guide to websites of quality medical information that can help you understand and manage many frequently diagnosed health conditions. The site is a service of the UNC - Health Sciences Library.

NC LIVE Video Collection

Online videos from PBS including Ken Burns documentaries, Masterpiece Theater, Scientific American, American Experience, and more.

NC Public Schools Statistical Profile

Selected statistical data from the NCDPI on students, personnel and finances.

NCPedia

Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.

NCWorks.gov

Job openings: NC state government jobs, America's Job Bank, and additional job search resources.

New York Times Featured

Full articles from the New York Times (1980-current).

NIH Senior Health

Aging-related health information for family members and friends seeking easy to understand online health information.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.

North Carolina Agricultural Statistics Service

Provides statistical information in table, map, and graph format on farm animals, crops, cash receipts, and weather.

North Carolina Curriculum

Specific DPI goals and objectives for classroom subjects and grade levels for North Carolina.

North Carolina Division of Public Health

Information on health precautions, links to local health departments, how to get birth certificates.

North Carolina Driver's Manual

Current DMV driver's manual in English and Spanish.

North Carolina Education Directory

Contains addresses and phone numbers of every NC public, federal, or charter school, all employees of the DPI, contact information for education organizations, associations, and educational material suppliers.

North Carolina General Assembly

Includes links to find representatives and senators for both the NCGA and the US Congress by county, district, and Zip code.

North Carolina Homepage

Provides comprehensive and online services for citizens, businesses, and state employees of North Carolina.

North Carolina Periodicals Index

Index of regional publications about a wide range of North Carolina-related topics.

North Carolina State Government Publications Collection

Informational brochures and pamphlets, reports (annual, biennial, statistical), serials (newsletters, checklists, magazines), handbooks, studies, and other information resources produced by state government.

NoveList Plus New

A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.

Nursing & Allied Health Database

Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 201020 decade.

Open Library

A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time.

Our State Magazine Collection Featured

Search or browse Our State magazine, North Carolina's premier travel, food, and culture publication celebrating the best of life in the state. Every issue from 1933 to 2011 is online in the North Carolina Digital Collections, and articles and advertisements are full text searchable.

Political Science Database

Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.

ProQuest Central

General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

Psychology Database Popular

Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

Public Health Database

This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.

PubMed

Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.

RBdigital Popular

Downloadable audio and ebooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with most iPods and WMA compatible MP3 players.

ReferenceUSA

Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

Regional Accounts Data - Local Area Personal Income

Personal income and population summary estimates, detailed county annual tables of income and employment, wage and salary summary estimates.

Religion Database

Religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history and related archaeology.

Research Companion New

An award-winning, cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.

Research Library

General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

Sanborn Maps North Carolina

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970, provides access to large-scale maps of North Carolina towns and cities.

Science Database

Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Science in Context

Reference content plus magazines, journals, news sources, experiments, and more. Covering earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biography.

SimplyAnalytics Featured

Web-based mapping application that lets you create professional-quality maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.

SIRS Discoverer New

Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offers articles, nonfiction books, images, activities, and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.

SIRS Government Reporter

Full-text current and historic government documents, landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions, information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more.

SIRS Issues Researcher Featured

Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.

SIRS Knowledge Source Package

Search all four SIRS databases at once for articles, primary sources, websites and graphics to support students with research, study and homework.

SIRS Renaissance

Full-text articles on arts & humanities subjects in the areas of Architecture & Design, Culture, Literature, Multimedia, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy & Religion and Visual Arts.

Social Science Database

Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.

Sociology Database

Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.

State Center for Health Statistics

Health-related research and reports and a collection of health statistics.

State Data Center

The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings.

State Demographics

Provides state, county, and municipal population estimates and projections by year, age, race, and sex.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Tax Forms via NC Department of Revenue Featured

Downloadable versions of current North Carolina individual and corporate income, franchise, sales, and withholding tax forms.

Teaching Positions in North Carolina

Links to the information needed to apply for a teaching job in North Carolina.

Telecommunications Database

Covers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.

Testing & Education Reference Center New

A testing and education preparation resource that includes in-depth information on college, graduate, and professional programs, professional training, scholarships, and entrance tests alongside practice tests for entrance exams, certifications, and licensing exams.

Turkey Database

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Turkey.

Twentieth Century African-American Poetry

62 of the most important African-American poets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.

Twentieth Century American Poetry

A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets.

Twentieth-Century English Poetry

Modernist poems (1900-1999): W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, A.E. Housman, D.H. Lawrence, Carol Ann Duffy, and more.

U.K. & Ireland Database

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.

US Newsstream Popular

News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.

Wall Street Journal

Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).

Women's Health

Resource on womens health topics: pregnancy, body image, HIV/AIDS, girls health, heart health, menopause, mental health, quitting smoking, and domestic violence.

WorldCat

Catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world.