Subscribe to our blog Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube Channel Follow us on Twitter Follow us on instagram Follow us on Tumblr
  • Fontana Regional Library will be closed for coronavirus prevention starting Tues, March 17 until it is safe to reopen. Curbside service will resume the week of May 18th. If you have any questions or concerns regarding COVID-19, call 211 in NC to get connected to resources in your community or text COVIDNC to 898211 to get alerts on NC COVID-19 updates.
  • All locations will be closed Monday, May 25th.
how_to_reg Creating an account
Some resources and databases allow you to create an account to store progress or research information. When creating accounts for library resources & databases, please be sure to select "Fontana Regional Library" if prompted to select a library.
A | B | C | E | F | G | H | L | N | O | P | R | S | U

Biography Reference Bank

A biography database of in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index, and specialist content from Junior Authors & Illustrators.

Biography Reference Bank allows you to quickly find the content you are looking for. Users can search for individuals based on any combination of occupation, activity, gender, place of origin, birthday and lifespan. Results can be limited by source type, and searchable indexes can be used to browse by biography name, document type, geographic terms and more.

This collection of original content is continuously supplemented with new biographies and updated versions of preexisting articles, giving users up-to-date information on featured subjects.

Content includes:
  • Coverage of more than 790,000 individuals, over 94,000 of whom have an associated full-text biography
  • More than 4 million records
  • Links to more than 650,000 related full-text articles, as well as abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals
  • A searchable collection of more than 35,000 images
  • Substantive narrative profiles averaging 3,000 words in length

Biography Reference Center

A comprehensive collection of full-text biographies on popular and heavily-researched figures. Users can locate biographies of interest by browsing key categories, including occupation, nationality, publication and more than 30 genre categories including actors, artists, athletes, authors, current world leaders, explorers, scientists and many others.

For tutorials and help resources visit: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/Biography-Reference-Center-Tutorial

Overview

This resource provides superior coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).

In addition to keyword searching, Biography Reference Center users can locate biographies of interest by browsing key categories, including occupation, nationality, publication and more than 30 genre categories including actors, artists, athletes, authors, current world leaders, explorers, scientists and many others.

Results can also be limited by reading level indicators (Lexiles) and source types that include concise and detailed biographies, interviews, obituaries and related articles. Users can also limit results according to any combination of subject occupation, activity, gender, birth place, birthday, lifespan, nationality and more.

Content includes: