Subscribe to our blog Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube Channel Follow us on Twitter Follow us on instagram Follow us on Tumblr

Online Resources and Databases

how_to_reg Creating an account
Some resources and databases allow you to create an account to store progress or research information. When creating accounts for library resources & databases, please be sure to select "Fontana Regional Library" if prompted to select a library.
login Logging in with your Library Card
Some resources and databases will require you to login using your library card number and password/PIN. Your library card number is located on the back of your library card. Your password/PIN will be the same password you use to login to your online catalog account. The default password/PIN (if you have not reset or changed it) is usually the last 4 digits of your primary phone number.
A | C | E | F | G | H | L | N | O | P | S | U
| Show All

SIRS Discoverer

Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offers articles, nonfiction books, images, activities, and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.

For search tips and help resources visit: http://proquest.libguides.com/sirsdiscoverer/education

Overview

SIRS® Discoverer® is a multidisciplinary database specifically designed for upper elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine, and reference book content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality global sources. The collection includes vetted educational Websites and reference materials such as the Compton’s by Britannica encyclopedia and DK Eyewitness books. Trusted periodical titles include Ranger Rick, Highlights for Children, Monkeyshines, New Moon, PopSci for Kids and many others.

SIRS Discoverer features easy access to the most-used content and features, logical subject tree hierarchy, age-appropriate search and filter capabilities, as well as streamlined results and article pages to help young learners connect with and comprehend content. User-friendly advanced search features enable young learners, and the educators who support them, to find exactly what they need by limiting any search by source type and offering the ability to filter by Lexile range.

SIRS Issues Researcher Featured

Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.

For help resource visit: http://proquest.libguides.com/issuesresearcher/education

Overview

SIRS Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for research and understanding of 360+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues. Editorially created Topic Overview pages help build a solid foundation for understanding the issue. Critical Thinking and Information Literacy skills are promoted through engaging Essential Questions and supporting viewpoint articles. All articles, websites, multimedia graphics, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents are editorially-selected from thousands of global sources. SIRS Issues Researcher supports school curriculum and differentiated instruction through a wide-variety of features and tools including: State and National standards correlations, text-to-speech & language translation, Lexile scores, editorially written article summaries and citation generators. Research guides, and intuitive links to third-party platforms like Microsoft OneDrive, Google Drive, Google Classroom and EasyBib help students complete their assignment successfully and efficiently.

keyboard_arrow_upTop