Subscribe to our blog Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube Channel Follow us on Twitter Follow us on instagram Follow us on Tumblr
  • Due to coronavirus prevention, all Fontana Regional Library buildings are currently open with some restrictions and Curbside pickup service. Please call your local library for more information.

how_to_reg Creating an account
Some resources and databases allow you to create an account to store progress or research information. When creating accounts for library resources & databases, please be sure to select "Fontana Regional Library" if prompted to select a library.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W

National Cancer Institute

Comprehensive descriptions of cancer research programs and clinical trials.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine

Complementary and alternative healing practices such as aromatherapy, acupuncture, and herbal medicine. Offers resources and pamphlets.

National Institute of Mental Health

Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets.

NC Health Info

A guide to websites of quality medical information that can help you understand and manage many frequently diagnosed health conditions. The site is a service of the UNC - Health Sciences Library.

NC Health Info (NCHI) is dedicated to empowering your health care decisions. NCHI is a dual-language online consumer health guide. It consists of reliable and easy-to-understand resources to help you make informed decisions about your health care. Topics range from researching common illnesses, medications & therapies, finding a provider or service, as well as what questions to ask your doctor and where to find free & discounted medical services in your area. All links on NCHI have been carefully reviewed and selected by librarians at the University of North Carolina (UNC) at Chapel Hill, as well as volunteer librarians located across the state of North Carolina. Resources are reviewed twice a year to ensure accuracy and relevance. NCHI can also connect you with a librarian at the Health Sciences Library (HSL) to help you find answers to health-related questions through Ask a Librarian, a service by the UNC University Library.

Video tours of this resource, including transcripts, can be found at: https://www.nchealthinfo.org/about-us/tour-nc-health-info/

NC Public Schools Statistical Profile

Selected statistical data from the NCDPI on students, personnel and finances.

NCPedia

Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.

NCpedia highlights North Carolina's unique resources, people, and culture to enrich, educate and inform. Resources for educators can be found at: https://ncpedia.org/educator-resources

It is coordinated and managed by the North Carolina Government & Heritage Library at the State Library of North Carolina, a part of the North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources.  The encyclopedia contains articles covering a broad spectrum of topics and resources about North Carolina, including: historical time periods, subjects, and events; biographies, including North Carolina’s governors; counties and government; geography and environment; business and economy; historical places and monuments; natural resources and natural heritage; and many others. NCpedia also includes thousands of images.

NCWorks.gov

Job openings: NC state government jobs, America's Job Bank, and additional job search resources.

New York Times Featured

Full articles from the New York Times (1980-current).

Available through US Newsstream, users are able to search current New York Times content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. 

Content Type: Abstract and index, Full Text, Text+Graphics

NIH Senior Health

Aging-related health information for family members and friends seeking easy to understand online health information.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.  The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database. 
 
North American Women's Letters and Diaries uses PhiloLogic software, developed at the University of Chicago, to enable in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database. 

Help resources are availble within the North American Women's Letters and Diaries resource.

North Carolina Agricultural Statistics Service

Provides statistical information in table, map, and graph format on farm animals, crops, cash receipts, and weather.

North Carolina Curriculum

Specific DPI goals and objectives for classroom subjects and grade levels for North Carolina.

North Carolina Division of Public Health

Information on health precautions, links to local health departments, how to get birth certificates.

North Carolina Driver's Manual

Current DMV driver's manual in English and Spanish.

North Carolina Education Directory

Contains addresses and phone numbers of every NC public, federal, or charter school, all employees of the DPI, contact information for education organizations, associations, and educational material suppliers.

North Carolina General Assembly

Includes links to find representatives and senators for both the NCGA and the US Congress by county, district, and Zip code.

North Carolina Homepage

Provides comprehensive and online services for citizens, businesses, and state employees of North Carolina.

North Carolina Periodicals Index

Index of regional publications about a wide range of North Carolina-related topics.

North Carolina State Government Publications Collection

Informational brochures and pamphlets, reports (annual, biennial, statistical), serials (newsletters, checklists, magazines), handbooks, studies, and other information resources produced by state government.

NoveList Plus Popular

A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.

Overview

NoveList's expertise in books and reading means that you'll always get the best help for finding just the right books.Hand-crafted recommendations are created by professionals -- NoveList will tell you who wrote a recommendation and why the recommendation makes sense. Appeals factors are a signature feature of NoveList -- and help match readers with their perfect books. Do you like funny, fast-paced mysteries? Or detailed mysteries with a lot of intrigue? The appeal language in NoveList will help you identify books that fit your style.

Features Include:
  • Expert recommendations for fiction and nonfiction 
  • Coverage of book titles for all ages
  • Audiobook recommendations
  • Complete series information
  • Appeal language to describe books
Benefits Include:
  • Popular, professional and reader reviews all in one place
  • Browsing by topic, age, reading (Lexile) level and more
  • Hundreds of reading lists, such as “Top 10” and “Best of”
  • Extensive “How Do I?” tab links to common FAQs
  • Downloadable quick lists of recommended books by topic
  • Common Core Standard documents, articles and other support 
  • Curricular guides by grade or unit
 

Nursing & Allied Health Database

Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/nahd/tips

Overview

Nursing & Allied Health Database provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. Nursing & Allied Health Database​ provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,200 titles, with over 1,050 titles in full-text, plus more than 15,700 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.

These are the main features and content:
  • Ongoing full-text access to high impact nursing journals and elite medical publications - Ongoing full-text access to high impact nursing publications including Journal of Nursing Scholarship, Journal of Emergency Nursing, and Nursing Standard (since April 2016). Core nursing journal coverage is augmented with elite medical publications such as The New England Journal of Medicine and The Lancet and is easily linked to other required content. Compared to other providers, ProQuest has shorter embargoes and more full-text content.