Subscribe to our blog Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube Channel Follow us on Twitter Follow us on instagram Follow us on Tumblr
  • Due to coronavirus prevention, all Fontana Regional Library buildings are currently open with some restrictions and Curbside pickup service. Please call your local library for more information.

how_to_reg Creating an account
Some resources and databases allow you to create an account to store progress or research information. When creating accounts for library resources & databases, please be sure to select "Fontana Regional Library" if prompted to select a library.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W

Health & Medical Collection Popular

Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/hamcollection/tips

Overview

The Health & Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource for researchers, students, faculty, and healthcare professionals. Inside users will find biomedical content from MEDLINE®, built on a core of premier scholarly journals in full text such as The New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, and The BMJ.

In addition, this collection aggregates content in all forms of media to support the learning, teaching, and research needs of institutions. This includes medical reference ebooks, instructional videos, dissertations, and working papers. As the study of medicine is an evidence-based discipline, the Health & Medical Collection includes thousands of evidence-based articles and clinical trial records.

While other resources tend to focus solely on the information needs of established professionals, this collection’s unique mix of training content, scholarly literature, and clinical reference materials makes it accessible for undergraduates, medical students, and all others preparing for a career in healthcare.

Subjects

  • Anatomy
  • Physiology
  • Biochemistry
  • Pharmacology
  • Microbiology

Healthcare Administration Database

Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/healthcareadmin/tips

Overview

The Healthcare Administration Database is designed for researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration.

Featuring full text of key scholarly journals and thousands of dissertations and theses, the Healthcare Administration Database offers international coverage to provide health administration researchers, hospital libraries, and health authorities with the highest quality content, much of which is not available elsewhere, from over 260 publishers including Advanstar Communications, Inc., Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association, Health Administration Press, HCPro, Inc., NewsRx and World Health Organization.

Healthfinder

Journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries on minority health, as well as prevention and self-care on a variety of topics such as pregnancy, HIV, diabetes, women's health, and more.

HealthFinder en español

Journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries on minority health, as well as prevention and self-care on a variety of topics such as pregnancy, HIV, diabetes, women's health, and more. In Spanish.

HeritageQuest Popular

Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes searchable historical census, Freedman's Bank records, Revolutionary War records, and more.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/hqo/searchtips

Overview

HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. 18th Century or 20th Century. European or Native American. Farm or Factory. East Coast or West Coast. Where does your American past begin?

Discover the amazing history of you with HeritageQuest Online. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past.

The collection consists of five core data sets:
  • Census collection contains over 700 million records from the U.S. Federal Census 1790-1940, and national censuses including Argentina, Netherlands, Czech Republic and several other countries.
  • Books collection contains over 22,000 family and local histories, compiled genealogies, documentary collections, church records, military records, vital records, city and county histories, and more.
  • City Directories with over 1.5 million records from various US city and county directories during 1821-1989.

Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection Featured

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/newspapersdotcom/search

Overview

Includes:
  • The Franklin Press (1888–1906)
Some historic newspapers are digitized at the page-level, while others are digitized at the article level. The basic searching function is identical for both article-level and page-level. Every part of every page of ProQuest Historical Newspapers is full-text searchable, whether they are digitized at the article-level or page-level. If you search for a term such as the name “John Kennedy” and it appears in the text any place on a page, it will generate a hit for that page—whether it is in an article title, in an article, in an advertisement, etc.

The primary difference in searching article-level titles is in the Advanced Search: because they include article-level metadata, newspapers digitized at the article-level provide users with the ability to restrict search results to different portions of the newspaper (articles, advertisements, cartoons, etc.).

History Study Center New

A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.

For help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/HSC/education

Overview

History Study Center is a unique reference tool that delivers a comprehensive collection of primary and secondary source material that meets the needs of both AP and mainstream courses in Social Studies.

History Study Center consists of seven integrated resources that can be easily cross-searched through a single interface:

  • Study Units—500+ History Topics containing editorially selected materials
  • Reference Works—20,000+ articles from atlases, biographical collections, encyclopedias, and research guides, more added monthly
  • Picture Library—3,000+ captioned historical photos, political cartoons, woodcuts, more
  • Video Library—hundreds of historical video clips, captioned for context and easy searching
  • Web Gateway—annotated links to thousands of reliable websites, from the major primary source collections down to individual pages
  • KnowledgeNotes™ History Guides—text-based topic guides about trends, events, and the science of history
  • Journal Library—cover-to-cover full text of 80 journals
Source Types: Study Units, Historical Documents, Maps & Reference, Multimedia, Journals, Audio, Weblinks

 

HIV InSite

Up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy. Includes information on HIV in other areas of the world.

Home Grown eBooks Collection Popular

A collection of more than 1,000 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.

The HomeGrown Ebooks Collection contains thousands of ebooks from North Carolina publishers, including:
  • Algonquin Books
  • CrossRoad Press
  • UNC Press
  • McFarland
  • Press 53
  • Gryphon House
  • John F. Blair
  • Ingalls
HomeGrown provides unlimited simultaneous user access, which means no holds, no checkout limits, and no wait lists. Classes, book clubs, and even entire communities can read the same ebook at the same time!

HomeGrown ebooks can only be downloaded to a mobile device. Biblioboard, which hosts the HomeGrown collection, has an app on the:
  • Apple App Store (iOS)
  • Google Play store (Android)
  • Amazon app store (Kindle Fire)
When you're using your desktop or laptop computer, you'll will need to go to HomeGrown using your browser to read books online. To download Homegrown books, you must create a free account on this website first before logging into the app. 

hoopla New

Downloadable audio and ebooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with all popular e-readers. An app is available for download. Users will need to make a personal account to use this resource.