Subscribe to our blog Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube Channel Follow us on Twitter Follow us on instagram Follow us on Tumblr
  • Due to coronavirus prevention, all Fontana Regional Library buildings are currently open with some restrictions and Curbside pickup service. Please call your local library for more information.

how_to_reg Creating an account
Some resources and databases allow you to create an account to store progress or research information. When creating accounts for library resources & databases, please be sure to select "Fontana Regional Library" if prompted to select a library.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database

Articles spanning Canadian agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more, including scholarly content.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/CBCAreference/tips

Overview

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Database is Canada’s most comprehensive and diverse full-text online database that combines content from three focused databases: CBCA Business, CBCA Education, and CBCA Reference & Current Events. CBCA Database provides high-quality indexing for over 1,800 publications and full text for more than 700. Broad coverage from a Canadian perspective spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more subject areas.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Database provides in-depth access to a wide diversity of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines. The academic titles include the most prominent journals from the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Other magazines focus on opinion, public policy, children/youth, lifestyles, arts and culture, health, regional concerns, etc.

Subject Coverage

  • Canadian Business
  • Canadian Culture
  • Canadian Current Events
  • Canadian Literature
  • Language in Canada

Canadian Newsstream

Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.

For search tips and help resources, visit: http://proquest.libguides.com/newsstream/searchtips

Overview

Canadian Newsstream provides users with unmatched access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 360 news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Canadian Newsstream content is updated daily so researchers always have timely access to new information.

Content Type: Abstract and Index, Full Text, Text+Graphics

Career & Technical Education Database

Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/ctedb/searchtips

Overview

​The Career & Technical Education Database is the definitive source for vocational information, offering full text journals, magazines, blogs, and video content. Students and instructors can research virtually any technical topic, including computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography. The database includes over 790 titles, with more than 700 available in full text. Agricultural Research, Computer Technology Review, Law & Order, Nutrition and Food Science, and Printed Circuit Design are just a few of the titles available in the Career & Technical Education Database.

Featuring full-text publications and valuable career resources, the Career & Technical Education Database offers comprehensive trade and industry information to help meet career and job seekers information needs. With the current state of the economy, demand for career advice and vocational information is at an all-time high. This database is a powerful solution to meet this demand.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Resources about diseases, conditions and other special topics, with health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide.

CINAHL Plus

Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.

Subject Coverage

  • Nursing
  • Biomedicine
  • Health science librarianship
  • Alternative/complementary medicine
  • Consumer health
Content types: Books, Nursing Dissertations, Conference Proceedings, Standards of Practice, Audioviduals, and more.
and 17 allied health disciplines

Computer Science Database

Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.

Overview

With a large and growing set of ongoing full text from publishers such as Springer, Cambridge University Press, Association for Information Systems, Emerald Group, the Computing Database supports the needs of students and faculty in the fast growing fields of information technology and computer science. The Computing Database is a growing resource of 4.2 million full text articles from over 500 sources. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and engineering literature.

This database is purpose-built to provide a growing foundational collection of the world’s leading information technology journals like the International Journal of Computer Vision and authoritative, accessible trade titles including Information Week and EContent.

These highly cited titles bring focused coverage and offers a superior level of detailed and specific research information across hundreds subject areas. Popular works, such as Wired and Technology Review provide necessary information for new or non-specialist learners with approachable context and language.

Content Type: Abstract and index, Full Text, Full Image, Text+Graphics

Consumer Health Database

Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/consumerhealth/tips

Overview

The Consumer Health Database offers international coverage dating back to 1988 for an enormous range of public health subjects, including pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity. Particularly of interest to public library users, the public health topics covered in the collection range from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Provided by over 190 publishers, over 350 full-text magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade publications and over 300 health video clips from INTELECOM are included in the collection. Key titles include American Family Physician, Psychiatric Times, Psychology Today, Family Relations, Journal of Youth and Adolescence, Men’s Health, Women’s Health Weekly, and Pediatrics for Parents.

Subject Coverage

  • Women’s health
  • Nutrition
  • Midwifery
  • Eye care
  • Dentistry
Content Type: Scholarly Journals, Wire Feeds, Magazines, Books, Newspapers, Other sources, Reports, Trade journals

Consumer Reports

Popular collection of product reviews and recommendations for cars, appliances, electronics, personal finance, and health information.

Overview

​Consumer Reports is the world's largest nonprofit product-testing organization and has been helping subscribers find better, safer products for 80+ years. Consumer Reports accepts no outside advertising and no free test samples, and employs shoppers and experts to buy and test the products reviewed. 

Includes car-buying and health care advice. ConsumerReports.org includes Consumer Reports with Cars Best Deals Plus® to assist consumers looking for reliable information on new and used cars. Additionally, ConsumerReports.org features extensive health content from Consumer Reports Online Health, a trusted and unbiased source of information designed to help consumers navigate the health care labyrinth.

In addition to product ratings and reviews, users will find in-depth advice, tips and trends written by Consumer Reports experts. Frequently updated articles, blogs and video content allow consumers to peruse the latest consumer news — whether they’re looking to learn more about budget-friendly home improvement plans, understanding the benefits and risks of retirement options or searching for the latest recalls of baby products.

With ConsumerReports.org, users can:
  • Compare price, performance, and reliability all in one place with expert reviews

Continental Europe Database

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/continentaleurope/platformtips

Overview

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries, including France, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

It contains over 300 scholarly, current, full-text journals. All journals are published in the region by academic institutions and scholarly publishers. A truly multidisciplinary database, it covers the most important subjects for study and research in the region, published by scholars working in local higher educational institutions.

The Continental Europe Database publications are scholarly journals that cover many different document types, among them:
  • Editorials
  • Interviews
  • Case studies
  • Reports
  • Interviews
  • Reviews

Subject Coverage

  • Business & Economics
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Education
  • Technology
  • Law

CQ Researcher

Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Check out the CQ Researcher Sample Searches user guide for a quick tutorial and example.

​CQ Researcher is the first place to go for the in-depth, balanced explorations of the most pressing issues in the news. CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.

Each report:

Credo Reference Popular

A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.

Credo Online Reference is a great resource to help you start your research. Topic pages provide a great introduction. The "Mind Map" feature and book browsing features help you expand your research and find related key words.

Video Tutorials include:

Crime in North Carolina (Uniform Crime Report)

The Uniform Crime Reporting Program collects data on the age, race, and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations.

Criminal Justice Database

Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/criminaljusticedatabase/search

Overview

Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security – as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime.

As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, Criminal Justice Database includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

Criminal Justice Database supports rigorous research on the causes, trends and societal impacts of crime through indexing and full text coverage of scholarly and trade titles on criminal justice and related topics. Over 600 publications crossing the following types:
  • Blogs, Podcasts, & Websites
  • Books

Cypress Resume

Cypress Resume is the simplest, most effective tool for resume creation on the market today. Specifically designed for job seekers skittish about writing, Cypress Resume allows anyone to create a professional resume in a matter of minutes.

Cypress Resume is an online resume builder that lets you create professional-quality resumes, including cover letter and references, in three quick and simple steps:
  1. Enter your name, contact information, work history and education.
  2. Choose the title of your desired job or simply the skill set you wish to highlight.
  3. Finally, choose from a collection of concise and professional job statements to ensure your resume will stand out. And that's it! In a few minutes you will have a great-looking, well-written resume that will give you the edge in today's ultra-competitive job market.