Subscribe to our blog Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube Channel Follow us on Twitter Follow us on instagram Follow us on Tumblr
  • Due to coronavirus prevention, all Fontana Regional Library buildings are currently open with some restrictions and Curbside pickup service. Please call your local library for more information.

how_to_reg Creating an account
Some resources and databases allow you to create an account to store progress or research information. When creating accounts for library resources & databases, please be sure to select "Fontana Regional Library" if prompted to select a library.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W

Sanborn Maps North Carolina

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970, provides access to large-scale maps of North Carolina towns and cities.

For help resources visit: http://proquest.libguides.com/dsm/browse

Overview

Digital Sanborn® Maps delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in more than 12,000 U.S. towns and cities across a century of change.

Sanborn® fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in libraries. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years, repeatedly mapping towns and cities as they changed.

The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and property numbers. Plans often include details on construction materials and building use; and also depict pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and other features likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood.

Combined with other sources such as city directories, photographs, small-scale maps, census records, genealogies, and statistical data—the Sanborn Maps provide an unparalleled picture of life in American towns and cities.

Science Database

Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Overview

With a large and growing set of ongoing full text from publishers such as Nature Publishing Group, Springer, Cambridge University Press, the ProQuest Science Database supports the needs of students studying applied and general sciences. ProQuest Science Database is a growing resource of 7.3 million full text articles from over 1,600 sources. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and engineering literature.

Content Type: Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Magazines, Conference Papers and Proceedings, Newspapers, Other Sources, Reports,

SIRS Discoverer

Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offers articles, nonfiction books, images, activities, and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.

For search tips and help resources visit: http://proquest.libguides.com/sirsdiscoverer/education

Overview

SIRS® Discoverer® is a multidisciplinary database specifically designed for upper elementary and middle school learners, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas such as, history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, and technology. All newspaper, magazine, and reference book content is 100% full text, editorially-selected and indexed from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality global sources. The collection includes vetted educational Websites and reference materials such as the Compton’s by Britannica encyclopedia and DK Eyewitness books. Trusted periodical titles include Ranger Rick, Highlights for Children, Monkeyshines, New Moon, PopSci for Kids and many others.

SIRS Discoverer features easy access to the most-used content and features, logical subject tree hierarchy, age-appropriate search and filter capabilities, as well as streamlined results and article pages to help young learners connect with and comprehend content. User-friendly advanced search features enable young learners, and the educators who support them, to find exactly what they need by limiting any search by source type and offering the ability to filter by Lexile range.

SIRS Issues Researcher Featured

Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.

For help resource visit: http://proquest.libguides.com/issuesresearcher/education

Overview

SIRS Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for research and understanding of 360+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues. Editorially created Topic Overview pages help build a solid foundation for understanding the issue. Critical Thinking and Information Literacy skills are promoted through engaging Essential Questions and supporting viewpoint articles. All articles, websites, multimedia graphics, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents are editorially-selected from thousands of global sources. SIRS Issues Researcher supports school curriculum and differentiated instruction through a wide-variety of features and tools including: State and National standards correlations, text-to-speech & language translation, Lexile scores, editorially written article summaries and citation generators. Research guides, and intuitive links to third-party platforms like Microsoft OneDrive, Google Drive, Google Classroom and EasyBib help students complete their assignment successfully and efficiently.

Social Science Database

Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/socialsciencedatabase/tips

Overview

The Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

The database includes titles such as:
  • American Political Science Review
  • Journal of Biosocial Science
  • Journal of Social Policy
  • Aging and Society
  • American Anthropologist
  • International Journal of Social Economics
  • International Journal of Sociology and Social Policy

Subject Coverage

  • Anthropology
  • Communication science
  • Demography
  • Economics
  • Education
  • Political science
  • Policy studies
  • Psychology
  • Social work
  • Sociology

Sociology Database

Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/sociologydatabase/tips

Overview

Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.

Sociology Database includes
  • 700 scholarly journals
  • nearly 4,000 dissertations and theses
  • video series from the INTELECOM Sociology Video Collection
  • numerous blogs, webcasts, magazines, and trade publications to provide a rounded research experience.
Sociology Database provides full-text support for Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts and Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts (ASSIA), covering a wide range of sociological and applied social science literature including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse, addiction, and more.

Subjects

  • Community and mental health services
  • Crisis intervention
  • The family and social welfare
  • Gerontology

State Center for Health Statistics

Health-related research and reports and a collection of health statistics.

State Data Center

The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings.

Overview

The State Data Center is a consortium of agencies cooperating with the US Bureau of the Census to provide the public with data about the state and its component geographic areas. The SDC lead agency is located in the Demographic and Economic Analysis Section of OSBM, where it provides extensive resources for retrieving statistical information. Three state-level coordinating agencies work closely with the lead agency:
  • State Library of North Carolina  - Answers data requests from State Data Center affiliates, state and local government agencies, and the public. Provides training for LINC and other data retrieval tools.
  • Odum Institute for Research in Social Science  - Serves the research needs of the academic community for large datasets
  • Center for Geographic Information and Analysis  - Provides custom services using geospatial data
  • Local Affiliates -- Seventeen regional affiliates, ten public libraries, and six associated agencies serve data users in their service area. Seven academic affiliates offer specific subject expertise, such as agriculture and economics.

State Demographics

Provides state, county, and municipal population estimates and projections by year, age, race, and sex.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

For search tips and help resources visit: http://proquest.libguides.com/statisticalabstract/searching

Overview

Published annually by the federal government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps the world. You’ll find it behind nearly every reference desk in U.S. libraries as the authoritative go-to source. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people.