Subscribe to our blog Like us on Facebook Subscribe to our YouTube Channel Follow us on Twitter Follow us on instagram Follow us on Tumblr

  • All locations will be closed Tuesday, December 24th; Wednesday, December 25th; and Thursday, December 26th.

​
announcement More information

Online Resources and Databases

how_to_reg Creating an account
Some resources and databases allow you to create an account to store progress or research information. When creating accounts for library resources & databases, please be sure to select "Fontana Regional Library" if prompted to select a library.
login Logging in with your Library Card
Some resources and databases will require you to login using your library card number and password/PIN. Your library card number is located on the back of your library card. Your password/PIN will be the same password you use to login to your online catalog account. The default password/PIN (if you have not reset or changed it) is usually the last 4 digits of your primary phone number.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W
| Show All

Political Science Database

Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/politicalsciencedatabase/tips​

Overview

The Political Science Database gives users access to over 450 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides the full text of many core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Political Science Database also includes thousands of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities and other sources such as country reports and policy papers.

Publication Types
  • Blogs, Podcasts & Websites
  • Conference Papers & Proceedings
  • Dissertations & Theses
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Other Sources
  • Reports
  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Journals
  • Wire Feeds
  • Working Papers

Subject Coverage

  • Comparative politics
  • Environmental policy
  • Human rights
  • International development
  • International relations
  • Migration
  • Political economy
  • Political science

ProQuest Central

General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/pqc/tips

Overview

ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 47 of ProQuest's complete databases, with a variety of content types across over 175 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world. Unlike other resources, ProQuest Central is made up of separate, fully searchable databases which may be used together or separately. ProQuest Central won the Software & Information Industry Association (SIIA) 2010 CODiE Award for Best Online General Reference Service.

While ProQuest Central provides access to millions of much-coveted full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, it also provides access to information not available in other aggregated resources such as:
  • Over 100,000 full text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education and more
  • Over 455,000 working papers from organizations such as NBER and OECD
  • Millions of up-to-date company reports, market and industry reports, and country profiles
  • The most comprehensive collection of market, industry, and economic reports available on the market today

ProQuest Learning: Literature

Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.

For help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/pqll/education

Overview

ProQuest Learning: Literature delivers more than 180,000 searchable works of literature from medieval times to the present. Students can find author biographies, contemporary criticism, reviews, and multimedia resources organized into more than 3,000 Author Pages.

ProQuest Learning: Literature also features 100+ searchable full-text literary journals and magazines for the latest in literary criticism.

Content and Features

  • 100% full-text
  • 180,000 searchable works of poetry, prose, and drama
  • 110+ Literary review and criticism sources
  • 3,500 author biographies
  • Multi-media images, audio, video, websites
  • Dedicated author landing pages
  • 20 Reference book sources
  • 950+ Recorded poems read by poets
  • 220+ KnowledgeNote™ Study Guides literary text guides
  • Cambridge University Press essays on 37 noted American authors and works
  • Study Pages with selected criticism, multi-media, and reference for genres, literary periods, literary movements, and Shakespeare
  • Durable URLs
  • Citation generator

ProQuest Research Companion

An award-winning, cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.

For help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/pqrc/education

Overview

ProQuest Research Companion is an intuitive, and self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries and online learning environments. It provides a new foundation and companion to "one-shot" sessions, allowing librarians and instructors to focus on teaching more complex research and writing principles.

Studies have shown that today's researchers are unequivocally overwhelmed with too much information and data—throughout all the stages of the research process. By combining learning modules and quick start evaluator tools into one resource, ProQuest Research Companion helps researchers in their quest to more effectively find, evaluate, and use information.

ProQuest Research Library

General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

Overview

Research Library is a truly multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources across the top 150 subject areas.  By covering more subject areas than other resources, It is ideal for serving diverse needs, from the one-time user to the interdisciplinary needs of serious researchers. 

Research Library provides access to a wide range of the core academic titles, from business and the sciences to literature and politics. The database expands daily and currently includes more than 6,000 titles, 75% of which are available in full text.

Subject areas covered include:

  • Arts
  • Business
  • Education
  • Health and medical
  • History
  • Law
  • Literature and languages
  • Multicultural
  • Psychology
  • Natural sciences
  • Social sciences
  • Engineering and technology
  • Women’s studies
Content Type: Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Magazines, Dissertations and Theses, Newspapers, Other Sources, Working Papers

Psychology Database

Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/psychologydatabase/tips

Public Health Database

This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.

For search tips and help resources visit: https://proquest.libguides.com/publichealth/basic

Overview

Public Health Database is the ideal starting point for public health information for students, teachers, researchers, and professionals. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 900 publications with over 700 high quality full-text publications, including over 500 scholarly journals. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more, the database covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public health terminology.

Includes access to current newspaper articles for uncovering timely results on the latest breaking topics pertaining to public health, such as H1N1, disaster preparedness, obesity and zika virus. The Public Health Database also provide access to over 10,000 full-text dissertations covering important topics such as: Biostatistics, Environmental Health Sciences, Epidemiology, Health Services Administration, International Public Health, Maternal & Child Health and Occupational Safety & Health.

PubMed

Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.

For how to's and help resources visit: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/#pubmedhelp.PubMed_Quick_Start and https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/guide/all/#howtos

Overview

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Tools and resources include:
  • PubMed Mobile
  • Single Citation Matcher
  • Batch Citation Matcher
  • Clinical Queries
  • Topic-Specific Queries
  • Chemicals & Bioassays
  • Data & Software
  • DNA & RNA
  • Domains & Structures
  • Genes & Expression
  • Genetics & Medicine
  • Genomes & Maps
  • Homology
  • Literature
  • Proteins
  • Sequence Analysis
  • Taxonomy
  • Variation
keyboard_arrow_upTop